A+1 Blogging

The PikiFriends blog offers a great method to develop online conversations through blogging. Called the A+1 Method, the process encourages quality when responding to blog posts, thus continuing the conversation.

Blogging has become a written art; bloggers create a blog post on topics of their choice, expressing their views and opinions to their readers. Comments to blog posts keep the topic alive and promote deeper understanding, new learning, and thought-provoking insight. Bloggers and commenters communicate, connect, collaborate, and share!

So, what’s A+1 commenting on blogs or in forums?

  • A = Answer the blog post or forum response
  • +1 = Add more information or Ask a question

When more information is added, or when a question is asked, blog comments and forum posts become conversational as others respond to the prompt or each other.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

For example, pick the A+1 answer for this the blog post:

“I was told to never use personal information like my name, address, city, or birthday for my password, but that’s the only way I’ll remember it. I’m going to stick with what I’ve been doing. I don’t think people will guess my login.”

Comment 1: so am I. If I do something else, I won’t remember my password either.
Comment 2: I use personal info too, I don’t think it’s a problem or makes my password easy to guess.
Comment 3: Hm, all I have to do is look over your shoulder, follow your fingers and connect it to your name or something. You should protect yourself better. Can’t you think of another word or phrase that would be hard to guess?
Comment 4: yep, I have my own method of making passwords. this is a dumb rule. No one can stop me using my name if I want to.

All four comments answered the post, to some extent. But if you guessed that Comment 3 added +1 to continue the conversation, you’re correct!

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

Comments keep the conversation going, furthering a reaction from the original poster, and others, in the online community.

A+1…Answer, then Extend the conversation by adding information or posing a question. Follow this simple rule to become a more active participant in online learning communities.

Categories: Accounting, WebPage | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A+1 Blogging

  1. Reblogged this on The official blog of PikiFriends and commented:
    Thanks to Slice of Rice for adding “+1” to this lesson plan idea!

  2. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a colleague who was doing a little homework on this. And he actually bought me dinner because I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about this matter here on your internet site.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

dranthonysblog

A guy with a desk...

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

EnglishMatters@MHS

Reading is Livelong! Cogito Ergo Sum - I think.....therefore, I am. Descarte

sliceofrice

Help yourself to a "slice" of this educator!

Kdibat's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

